The Five Love Languages

Have y'all read this book?  I'm in the middle of it now and it's an interesting read.  The book is basically outlining five different ways that people feel loved:

1) Words of Affirmation
2) Quality Time
3) Receiving Gifts
4) Acts of Service
5) Physical Touch

The concept is that a lot of times we may feel love a certain way (words of affirmation, for example) and so it feels natural for us to "speak" this same language when we are showing love to our spouse.  The problem comes when our spouse speaks a different language (acts of service, for example).  So even though we feel like we are showing love towards our spouse, they aren't really hearing what we're saying.

The author encourages us all to learn what our love language is and that of our spouse.  He says that it is difficult to learn to speak another love language, but if we can it will really help to boost the love that our spouse feels.  Now who doesn't want to do that?!

I can understand what the author is saying and how it become a problem, but what I can't figure out is what my language is!!  I even took this quiz- What's Your Love Language?.  I struggled through the questions and each scenario was hard to compare, in the end it said my language was "Receiving Gifts" but it only won by 1 point compared to the other languages.  Hmmm?

What's your love language?


Jane said...

I really want to read that book. I hear that people love it. I feel like I would have similar results to you though and not have one clear "language".

Jessica Drew ♥ Stilettos & a fishing pole said...

Ohhh, this looks like a must have book! Is it?

Brekke said...

Yes! I think everyone should read it, I thought about giving it to someone when I finished it but I think I'll probably need to reread it at some point! Lol!